Will T.O. headline 2018 Hall of Fame class?

Yes we saw that Terrell Owens did not make the Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2017, in his second year of eligibility. Most people would of thought when T.O’s playing days were over, he would be a lock to be a first ballot HOF’er. Especially with these credentials.

Let’s look at Terrell Owens’ career breakdown:

Second in NFL career receiving yards with 15,934.

Third in NFL career receiving touchdowns with 153.

Led NFL in touchdowns three seasons.

A five-time Associated Press First Team All-Pro

The 2017 Hall of Fame class is still very deserving, but to have a kicker and Jerry Jones get in over a player with those credentials is ridiculous. Now most would think now, T.O should be a lock to make it in the 2018 class right? Most would think so, as do I. But who’s eligble in 2018? And will they get in over Owens again?

  • Ray Lewis
  • Randy Moss
  • Brian Urlacher
  • Ronde Barber
  • Steve Hutchinson

Including candidates that didn’t make it this year like Brian Dawkins (my favorite Eagle of all time), John Lynch and Ty Law.

Could the class of 2018 involve a class with the names of Randy Moss, Terrell Owens, Ray Lewis ,Brian Dawkins and Brian Urlacher? That would mean in Owens and Moss, arguably the two most outspoken receivers of all time, and in my opinion the 2nd and 3rd best receivers of all time behind the G.O.A.T, Jerry Rice. Then with Lewis, Dawkins and Urlacher, the three most vocal locker room leaders that this generation has ever seen?

The 2018 class could wind up being the most intriguing class we could see in quite some time. Listening to their speeches could even be more the more intriguing thing to look forward to.

My prediction for the 2018 Hall of Fame class is:

  • Brian Dawkins, only player in NFL History with at least 25 sacks, 25 interceptions and 25 forced fumbles in a career.
  • Terrell Owens, Third all time in receiving TDs, Second all time in receiving yards.
  • Ray Lewis, 7 time AP First-team All-Pro, 2 time Defensive Player of the Year honors
  • Randy Moss, Holds record for most TDs in a season (23), Second all time in receiving TDs
  • Brian Urlacher, 4 time AP First-team All-Pro, NFL Defensive Player of the year (2005)
  • Steve Hutchinson, 7 time Pro-Bowler, 4 time AP First-team All-Pro
  • Don Coryell, Senior candidate, Former Chargers head coach, 5 time division champion, developed future SB winning coaches John Madden and Joe Gibbs

Only the writer’s votes and time will tell who actually gets in the 2018 class, but if my predictions wind up being right, prepare for it to be the most star-studded & outspoken class we have seen in years.

Please comment and share!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s